What Is My Name?

What Is My Name?

by Janice Wood

What is my name?

Quel est mon nom?

What do you think of

When you first see me, or

After you get to know me?

What’s my name?

Who do you see?

What do you feel?

Comment ça va?

I have other names so that

When I hear someone else call me

I will know from whence they came

Before I turn around.

Are you someone from my past

Or my present?

If they call me, “jay double you”,

I will know this is from my past.

If they call me, “JDub”

Then I know the present.

If they call me—,

Then I will know they know me

From this dot on the timeline.

I will know how to respond

When I turn around-

To either greet the past or

The present.

What’s my name?

Leave a Reply

