the day is canceled

 the day is canceled

 

by Janice Wood

 

 

people still turn on their tv’s at home

-at work we turn to the internet

 

i couldn’t get on the internet that morning,

after I heard.

-so I kept trying

 

i go to my “favorites”

-go to every news group,

the process is too slow for me to wait any longer

 

i try to remember obscure names of newspapers

around the country –not on my “favorites” list

one name works…

-a picture downloads slowly

 

-a picture on the front page verifies what i am hearing

one jet crashes into the world trade center.

 

people still turn on their tv’s at home

-at work we turn to the internet

 

suddenly, I remember the day Kennedy was shot

-i feel the same kind of nausea.

-i  feel the same kind of silence.

 

our science teacher stops class

to make the announcement about Kennedy

-we hear it, but can’t quite take it all in

 

she says, “go home, class”.

 

i walk down the blocks heading home

and the sky seems to be a hazy yellow-pink in my confusion

 

i reach home; I am the first one there.

i sink into a chair and turn on the tv

 

-the picture shows a second jet heading for the world trade center…

 

second tower is hit

 

I go into my bosses’ office

-she  is on the internet…

 

she says, “go home”

 

-I go home and turn on the tv

Leave a Reply

