When did i become friends with my Mother?

When did i become friends with my Mother?

by Janice Wood

 

I often wonder about

-those girls who could talk to

their mothers about Anything!

 

The comfort level

Is something I was curious about

 

 

Then one day I stopped thinking about it,

Years later when I became an adult,

 

My mother and I were having a conversation,

Laughing together,

Laughing like we were on the same page,

Laughing at some of the same things for the same reasons.

 

Then I realize my viewpoint has changed on more

and many.

 

I have changed.

 

One day it dawned on me,

as I was talking to an obnoxious older adult.

 

I, too, pay my taxes

I, do not need to be intimidated,

I can look you in the eye

And s-say, you will not speak

To me like that

 

Yes, I was taught better than to be rude to an adult,

But…

My Mother, my friend taught me to be an Adult.

Leave a Reply

